LibGuides: Kirk Library Website and Resources Introduction (No Quiz): Using General Databases

General Databases

General Databases are multidisciplinary, or they cover a lot of different subjects. The odds are good that you could find results on your topic when you start with general databases. Below are two of the general databases Centralia College provides:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in more than 13,600 periodicals (full text available for over 4,700 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as literature, controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, law, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more.
.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in more than 5,060 periodicals (full text available for over 3,600 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as controversial issues, business, education, health and medical, law, humanities, psychology, sciences, and more.

General Databases Tutorial

The following video shows you how to access the Databases on the Kirk Library website and introduces two General Databases, Academic Search Complete and Research Library.

Database Basics (General Databases) April 2023 by Meredith Tummeti is licensed CC By 4.0. The video has closed captions and a transcript is available on YouTube. (Approximately 16 minutes.)

Key Moments in the video:

(Visit YouTube to use the chapters.)

00:00 Accessing the databases from the Library Website
01:43 Academic Search Complete overview
- 01:05 Starting your search
- 04:09 Filtering your results
- 08:38 Citation and storage tools available
10:15 Research Library
- 10:37 Starting your search
- 11:56 Filtering your results
- 13:45 Quick Look, Citation and Storage Tools