LibGuides: Writing in the Workplace (Erickson): Home

Writing 105 Resources

Research 101 Guide

A detailed guide to research including how to get started, tips for finding and evaluating sources, and information about including source content in your writing.

Research 101
by Meredith Tummeti Last Updated Apr 25, 2024 1250 views this year

Electronic reference materials, like encyclopedias, for gathering background information.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Find a selection of individually purchased reference ebooks on a variety of topics for Centralia College students, faculty, and staff. Titles include: CaseBase: Case Studies in Global Business; Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice; Endangered Species: Protecting Biodiversity; Energy: Supplies, Sustainability, and Costs; Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology; and many more.

Databases for finding articles related to the workplace and business.

ABI Inform: Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Search for in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other business topics in more than 3,140 publications (full text available for over 2,930). Covers a wide range of trades and industries, including finance, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and many more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in more than 13,000 business-related periodicals, including Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, and Journal of Accounting. It also contains country economic reports from EIU, company profiles from Datamonitor, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games.
.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find books, articles and more. This tool searches the catalog of materials at Kirk Library, including Books, DVDs and CDs, plus selections from many of the databases and eBook collections we subscribe to, and many openly published scholarly books and articles. To narrow your search to only items available at Kirk Library, do a search, then click "available in the library" from the left-side menu.

One Search

Search for books, articles, videos, and other resources using just one search:

In-class presentation.