LibGuides: Writing in the Workplace (Nelson): Home

Writing 105 Resources

Research 101 Guide

A detailed guide to research including how to get started, tips for finding and evaluating sources, and information about including source content in your writing.

Research 101
by Kyle Sutton Last Updated Oct 10, 2024 2137 views this year

Electronic reference materials, like encyclopedias, for gathering background information.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
.

Databases for finding articles related to the workplace and business.

ABI Inform: Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Search for in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other business topics in more than 3,140 publications (full text available for over 2,930). Covers a wide range of trades and industries, including finance, telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, and many more.
.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in more than 13,000 business-related periodicals, including Harvard Business Review, Academy of Management Review, and Journal of Accounting. It also contains country economic reports from EIU, company profiles from Datamonitor, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Access to reports published up to 2023 only. Any newer reports are locked.
.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, facts, and market data on over 600 international industries from 18,000 North American, European, and Asian sources of data, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

Or you can visit the full A-Z Databases and Resources list for more choices.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the library's discovery tool located on the library homepage. You may hear it referred to as a "catalog", but it is much more than that! OneSearch is useful for finding many types of resources, including physical books, DVDs or CDs located inside the library. You can also find a selection of results from some of our databases, like newspaper articles, journal articles, streaming videos, eBooks, and images. OneSearch also can help you locate credible openly published journal articles and eBooks. Remember, OneSearch is not a search engine that searches the open web, it is a discovery tool that only finds library resources.

One Search

Search for books, articles, videos, and other resources using just one search:

Writing in the Workplace (Nelson)

Librarian