LibGuides: Nutrition (Neal): Home

Background Information

Start by learning more about your topic and gathering keywords to use in your search.

Credo Reference
Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
.
MedLine Plus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.

Nutrition by Sven Schulz (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536170443

Publication Date: 2020-02-20

Every day, the United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) serves millions of infants, children, and adults across the United States. The CACFP provides a great opportunity to introduce infants and children to healthy eating habits. This book reports on the importance of good nutrition at every age.
Human Nutrition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla (Adapted by, Edited and Translated by, Editor); Alan Titchenal (Editor, Edited and Translated by, Adapted by)
ISBN: 9781948027014

Publication Date: 2018-01-01

This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the OER textbook for the FSHN 185 The Science of Human Nutrition course at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Nutrition and Food by Voyer, Luis E.
ISBN: 9781527589773

Publication Date: 2022

The sustained increase in cancer, chronic metabolic and neurodegenerative diseases after a long history of dietary transitions and technological advances in the industry, requires a scientific evaluation of risks and health benefits. This book provides insight into physiology, cell structure, molecular biology, genetics and epigenetics in order to raise awareness about nutrition and food seen from a new dimension, not only for normal growth and development, preservation of health and disease prevention, but for co-adjuvant and sustainable treatment. It brings together 442 bibliographic references in order to promote optimal nutrition.
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan; Heather Leonard; Tamberly Powell
ISBN: 9781636350035

Publication Date: 2020-01-01

This book is designed as an Open Education Resource (OER) for introductory nutrition courses and has been adopted for use in high schools and colleges. Topics covered include basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, body weight and health, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals. The second edition of Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application was released in August 2022.

OneSearch

OneSearch is the library's discovery tool located on the library homepage. You may hear it referred to as a "catalog", but it is much more than that! OneSearch is useful for finding many types of resources, including physical books, DVDs or CDs located inside the library. You can also find a selection of results from some of our databases, like newspaper articles, journal articles, streaming videos, eBooks, and images. OneSearch also can help you locate credible openly published journal articles and eBooks. Remember, OneSearch is not a search engine that searches the open web, it is a discovery tool that only finds library resources.

One Search

Search for books, articles, videos, and other resources using just one search:

Top Resources

These databases are great places to start finding books, articles, and more on nutrition topics.

Academic Search Complete
Search for articles in more than 13,600 periodicals (full text available for over 4,700 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as literature, controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, law, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more.
.
Research Library
Search for articles in more than 5,060 periodicals (full text available for over 3,600 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as controversial issues, business, education, health and medical, law, humanities, psychology, sciences, and more.
.
Consumer Health Database
Search in over 380 periodicals on an enormous range of health issues. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.