You may be familiar with searching the internet for information using a search engine like Google, Safari, Edge, DuckDuckGo or Firefox. Learn more about using the library databases for academic resources by watching this brief video.
What Are Databases and Why You Need Them by Yavapai College, used with permission. A transcript is available on YouTube.
Interdisciplinary databases cover many different subjects. The odds are good that you could find results on your topic when you start with interdisciplinary databases. Below are three of the interdisciplinary databases Centralia College provides:
Search for articles in more than 13,600 periodicals (full text available for over 4,700 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as literature, controversial issues, business, health & medicine, psychology, sociology, law, religion, philosophy, media studies, and many more.
Search for articles in more than 5,060 periodicals (full text available for over 3,600 periodicals). Covers a wide range of popular academic subjects, such as controversial issues, business, education, health and medical, law, humanities, psychology, sciences, and more.
The following video shows you how to access the Databases on the Kirk Library website and introduces two Interdisciplinary Databases, Academic Search Complete and Research Library.
Kirk Library Interdisciplinary Database tutorial (Academic Search Complete and Research Library) (2024) by Meredith Tummeti is licensed CC By 4.0. The video has closed captions and a transcript is available on YouTube. (Approximately 21 minutes.)
(Visit YouTube to use the chapters.)
