Statistics: Statistics By Topic Area

Statistics collected by over 100 separate U.S. Government agencies are gathered together. Subjects are searchable by keywords or by a list of topics.

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.

The Google Public Data Explorer takes large data sets and makes them palatable for public consumption, taking numbers, figures and other data and turning them into bar graphs, line graphs, maps and bubbles.

A private, nonprofit organization which informs people around the world about population, health and the environment for research or academic purposes.

Published annually by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agriculture Statistics provides information on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns

The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture

The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States

The USDA Census of Agriculture Historical Archive is a collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and the National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The site serves as a public archive of Census publications published prior to 1987. These publications are primarily scanned print material now available in PDF format

Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

From the U.S. Department of Justice

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - The Sourcebook contains statistics in the following areas: Criminal Justice Characteristics; Public Opinion; Crime, Victims; Arrests, Seizures; Courts, Prosecution, Sentencing; and Parole, Jails, Prisons, Death Penalty.

Crime statistics from the Washington State Statistical Analysis Center

Find U.S. Census data by various factors.

From the U.S. Census Bureau, this site provides demographic profiles for states and areas within them

From the University of Virginia Library, this resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books

From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security

From the U.S. Census Bureau

This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health

Find info on employment, unemployment, inflation, wages and more.

Regional and state employment and wages from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Access GDP (gross domestic product) and other earnings and trade info nationally and by region and industry.

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year

Conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, the Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.

Produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation's quarterly data sheet summation of banking and economic conditions in each state.

The FDIC offers many economic and financial resources through its public web site. The Bank Data Guide is a summary of the tools that are available.

Access financial information on specific banks as well as analyses on the banking industry and economic trends.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Compiles stats from early childhood education through post-secondary education.

This National Center for Education Statistics page provides quick statistical answers to basic questions about education, such as "Are American students performing better in reading now than in the past?" and "How many educational institutions exist in the U.S.?"

A program of the U.S. Department of Education's National Center for Education Statistics, this site provides fiscal and non-fiscal data about all public schools, public school districts, and state education agencies in the United States.

The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.

Data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Find information related to the work of the U.S. courts. Data appear in detailed statistical tables and charts, and many reports offer analyses of key data.

This U.S. Environmental Protection Agency site allows you to search by zip, city or county for environmental information on air quality, water, and hazardous waste

From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, this site helps you find facts about air, water, land, waste, toxins, and radiation for specific areas

The EIA provides independent analysis and statistics on energy use: petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear and alternative fuels (hydro power, solar, wind, geothermal, ethanol, etc.)

CIESIN’s mission is to provide access to information worldwide, advancing understanding of human interactions in the environment and serving the needs of science and public, as well as, private decision-making

From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site provides an alphabetically-arranged list of environmental health topics

A very thorough guide to resources on finding and utilizing health statistics, from the University of Michigan Library

This is the place to start looking for health statistics. This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity.

Data on demographics, health, health policy, financing, health coverage, access and state legislation. A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Use the search box in the upper right hand side to search for statistics across 27 different types of health institutes. For example, search "breast cancer statistics" or search "obesity statistics."

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries; features county and local, state, individual, national, and global health data.

From the World Health Organization, data and analysis on health around the world, arranged by topic

Weekly reports providing analysis and hard statistics on fatal diseases and causes of death. Some articles in Adobe Acrobat format

From the Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results Program of the National Cancer Institute

This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health

Data on diseases, healthcare, environmental health, etc. in Washington state

CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.