A detailed guide to research including how to get started, tips for finding and evaluating sources, and information about including source content in your writing.
Find over 3 million encyclopedia and dictionary entries in more than 600 top quality encyclopedias and dictionaries in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games.
Or you can visit the Start Researching Guide for more choices.
OneSearch is the library's discovery tool located on the library homepage. You may hear it referred to as a "catalog", but it is much more than that! OneSearch is useful for finding many types of resources, including physical books, DVDs or CDs located inside the library. You can also find a selection of results from some of our databases, like newspaper articles, journal articles, streaming videos, eBooks, and images. OneSearch also can help you locate credible openly published journal articles and eBooks. Remember, OneSearch is not a search engine that searches the open web, it is a discovery tool that only finds library resources.
Search for books, articles, videos, and other resources using just one search:
Search terms, or search strings, are all of the words that are entered into a search box in a search engine or database. We might be used to typing an entire sentence or question into the search box for Google, Safari or Edge search engines. This way of communicating is called natural language, but many databases have a hard time with natural language. Databases can provide better results through the use of keywords and Boolean Operators/Modifiers.
You may be accustomed to researching topics by typing questions into a Google search bar. When searching Library Databases, brainstorm words that are related to your topic and then use the most meaningful nouns, or keywords, as your search terms. Leave out adjectives, adverbs, prepositions and, in most cases, verbs. Sometimes using an online thesaurus, a Wikipedia article, or Googling your topic can help you generate keyword ideas. A great start can be pulling out the main ideas stated in your research question or preliminary thesis statement.
Librarians can help you find good keywords! Use our Chat with a librarian 24/7 for help!.
The following closed captioned video offers advice on starting your list of keywords.
How to choose Keywords by McMasters University Libraries. A transcript is available on YouTube.
What are sustainable alternatives to dams to control climate change related flooding?
The bolded words are the "initial keywords" I identified from the research topic. I then brainstormed more keywords for each of those initial keywords:
"Sustainable alternatives"
dam*
"Climate change"
Flooding
Many library databases require a special set of conventions. In this case, we are exploring Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), and the Boolean modifiers, truncation symbols, nesting, and quotes. Databases and search engines apply these rules differently, so check the HELP files in the database you are using to find out more.
This video explains the Boolean Operators, AND, OR, NOT, and how to use them.
How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators (AND OR NOT) by McMasters Libraries. Video is closed captioned and a transcript is available on YouTube.
In addition to AND, OR, NOT, there are additional symbols, Boolean Modifiers, that can help improve your searches. As we will see in the video below, these Boolean modifiers, (), "", *, ?, can help refine your search even more.
How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers by McMasters Libraries. Video is Closed Captioned and a transcript is available on YouTube.
As explained in the videos, when we combine keywords and Boolean operators and modifiers together it becomes a search string. "climate change AND "sea level rise" - is an example of a search string that could be used in OneSearch or a database. Click to open the button below to see more examples of search strings.
Tip: Sometimes it is better to break your search topic into smaller chunks. Searching for altenatives, water control devices, climate change, and flood waters may prove to be too many ideas together, so divide it up into more manageable segments.
AND Use AND to retrieve both search terms
OR Use OR to retrieve either search term(s)
NOT Use NOT to exclude search term(s)
" " Use " " to keep the order of words or phrases intact
( ) Use ( ) to organize the order of relationships in your search
* Use * to the end of a term to search all ending of the root word, e.g. govern* retrieves government, governmental, govern, governs, governor
? Use ? to find alternate spellings, e.g. wom?n retrieves woman or women. Also find differences between British and American spellings, e.g. behav?r retrieves behavior or behaviour
