Introduction to the Kirk Library

The library provides students with access to a wide variety of resources, including reference sources, books, scholarly and trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and videos. While the physical collection located within the walls of the library building is fairly modest, the library provides students with 24/7 access to a vast collection of digital resources. To start accessing our physical and digital collection, use the library's discovery tool, "OneSearch," and/or use the databases listed on our "A-Z Database and Resources" page.

OneSearch is the library's discovery tool located on the library homepage. You may hear it referred to as a "catalog", but it is much more than that!  OneSearch is useful for finding many types of resources, including physical books, DVDs or CDs located inside the library. You can also find a selection of results from some of our databases, like newspaper articles, journal articles, streaming videos, eBooks, and images. OneSearch also can help you locate credible openly published journal articles and eBooks.  Remember, OneSearch is not a search engine that searches the open web, it is a discovery tool that only finds library resources.

Kirk Library databases cover all major academic areas at Centralia College. Databases can contain academic journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, eBooks, streaming videos, and more. Centralia College pays for the databases so students, faculty, and staff have access to information that cannot be found on the open web. 

How do I find a database?

From the Kirk Library homepage, go to the Find tab and click Start Researching. 

Start Researching is a tool to help you find the types of sources that you need. We've selected the most useful databases and resources for each type. If you want to see our entire list of A-Z Databases & Resources, you'll find a link on the left under the navigation menu.

How do I access a database off-campus?

When researching off-campus, you will be prompted enter your student email address (firstname.lastname@student.centralia.edu) and password.

If you have any trouble logging in from off-campus, visit the IT Help Desk Frequently Asked Questions for tips and assistance.